Re-taking the hardest step. The first one.

PBS Remix-Happy Painter

Bob Ross once said “Talent is a pursued interest. Anything that you are willing to practice, you can do.” While growing up I always had a small knack for artwork and design, I liked creating cool things with my hands out of thin air and making them a reality. When I was younger, the motivation to create was overwhelming and almost bursting at the seams at all time. I would find the most unorthodox materials to create something. Even if the work was junk, as long as I liked it I didn’t care. On a side note that saying that you are your own worst critic works both ways. If you really enjoy a piece and no one else does you will find that it doesn’t bother you too much. Back to what we were talking about though, as I got older though and the real world finally reared its ugly head it became more difficult to find myself motivated to create new and unique work. Grant you, creativity is not created in a vacuum and you will need something to inspire you from time to time. Sadly that inspiration light dims out as well and I found that not much inspired me anymore either. I had a side of  my brain recognizing the problem and said that I was in a slump and I just needed to sit down and get started doing whatever but my other half had me paralyzed and realized that Netflix and beer was just easier. So the question was. How do I get over this and get going after my creative engine had clearly stalled.

Three things fixed this problem for me. Now as usual I cant guarantee this is going to work for everyone but it finally pushed through for me. First, whatever lingering talent you have a from a previous hobby will resurface if you jump back to your roots. What I am saying is brush off the rust and slowly or quickly everything will come back. I’m talking about dusting off the old textbooks, listen to the old music, or turn on the endless Scrubs marathon that would tun in your focus for some strange reason. Second, take your newly polished skill set and step right outside of your comfort zone. When I went back into drawing, either on the computer or physical, I would give realistic drawing a very wide berth. I had difficulty gaining proper perspective and making whatever I was drawing look like the subject matter. It pissed me off because I felt like I was starting all over but in a sense that’s the point. Kinda like sharpening a knife you never used. You know how to use a lot of knives but not that one in particular. It’s okay to get frustrated and angry and annoyed but don’t let it discourage you. Learning something new is never really easy but it will get better. With this in mind it rolls into our third and most critical step. KEEP GOING! You are going to have days where you wont even want to engage into your hobby let alone work on it. Jump in. Did you just walk in the door from your job after a bad day? Jump in. Fight with your girlfriend / boyfriend / sheep? Jump in. Sick? Jump in. You are not going to be motivated or excited of every hour of every day to pursue your hobby or your talent. You have to keep at it, you have to force yourself, until it becomes habit and you cant go a day without doing it. KEEP GOING! Because you can do it and rock the world with it.

As of right now outside of work I manage to keep this blog going, started drawing again, and broke open three of my design textbooks. I hate it during the week but because I stick with it at the end of the week it feels awesome. I feel productive again and my gears are constantly turning with copious amounts of inspiration. I haven’t felt this way in a long time and I can tell you, it feels great.  Remember the three and KEEP GOING. Results will follow.

P.S. It doesn’t hurt to ask for help either

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

