“This life is like a swimming pool. You dive into the water, but you can’t see how deep it is.” -Dennis Rodman

ROCCO_BostonTerrie_2377718k

Underwater Dogs By Seth Casteel

Oh how I miss the days when I was able to have access to a pool at any given moment during the summer. Growing up I never suffered the heat since each year I had a summer pass to the local pool. Yes I was labeled a pool rat, I knew all the lifeguards names, and I could swim like a fish by the time I eight years old. Even getting older I always manage to find some water to dive into during the seasons throughout college and my post grad life. It unwinds me to a degree of pure peace the minute I dunk my head underwater and the entire world goes silent and that is true silence right there. Floating in a nearly zero G environment with all the weight of the world off your shoulders  and being one with yourself until you either run out of breath or someone puts a thumb over your snorkel. I once heard somewhere that we humans as a species are attracted to water because it triggers something in us that reminds us of floating in the womb before our birth. I’m not sure of the science behind it does feel like something familiar when I do it. Hey whatever works right?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

